Words from fire

Traditional Pashto couplet:
Rather I receive your bullet riddled body with honour
That news of your cowardice on the battlefield.

Malala Yousafzai addresses the United Nations.

Malala addressing the United Nations

Malala says,
“Over the last year I have seen many other places, but my valley remains to me the most beautiful place in the world. I don’t know when I will see it again but I know that I will.”

” Today I looked at myself in a mirror and thought for a second. Once I had asked God for one or two extra inches in height, but instead he made me as tall as the sky, so high that I could not measure myself. So I offered the hundred raakat nafl that I had promised if I grew.”

I love my God.I thank my Allah.I talk to him all day. He is the greatest. By giving me this height to reach people, he has also given me great responsibilities. Peace in every home, every street, every village, every country-this is my dream. Education for every boy and every girl in the world.

To sit down on a chair and read all my books with all my friends at school is my right. To see each and every human being with a smile of happiness is my wish.

These words helped me the most to see through this brave girl. This helped me to believe in the power of one person’s voice to inspire the change in the world. A life void of taking risks is not a life worth living.Fear will drive you into fear and fear and fear… If a 14 yr old girl can withstand the threat of Taliban,then youth can miraculously withstand the threat of illiteracy, poverty and deprivation.

One Child, One Teacher, One Book and One Pen can change the world.

Aswathy Venugopal

Leave a Reply

