‘W.A.R.P. 1: The Reluctant Assassin’ by Eoin Colfer

Riley is an orphan taken in by assassin Albert Garrick. When they are out on the job where Riley will kill someone for the first time, he encounters the target and then gets transported forward into the 21st century. This is when special agent Chevron Savano enters the mix; an underage agent who is American but ends up in London working with WARP (Witness Anonymous Relocation Program) after an assignment goes wrong. Her boss, Felix Smart, son of Charles Smart (Riley’s target), who built the time traveling WARP pods, gets fused with Garrick on a mission to the past. They travel across modern London, escaping from the currently super smart assassin, Albert Garrick, who is also a quantum man. Then Garrick forces them to go to the past, along with the last Timekey. Chevie must find her way back to the present before Garrick destroys the Timekey.

This book is followed by W.A.R.P. 2: The Hangman’s Revolution and W.A.R.P. 3: The Forever Man. My favorite character was Riley because he was resourceful enough for a boy from the Victorian age who landed n the modern age. While the book was good, it wasn’t as good as the Artemis Fowl series. I would recommend this book to young readers.

I would rate this book 3.5 out of 5.

Reviewed by Girish V. S.


One thought on “‘W.A.R.P. 1: The Reluctant Assassin’ by Eoin Colfer”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s