‘Heidi’ by Johanna Spyri

Heidi is a work of children’s fiction published in 1881 by Swiss
author Johanna Spyri, originally published in two parts as Heidi: her years of wandering and learning and Heidi : How she used what she learned.  It is a novel about the events in the life of a young girl in her grandfather’s care, in the Swiss Alps. It was written as a book “for children and those who love children”. Heidi is one of the best-selling books ever written.

This book is my favourite book because I always smile and am very happy when I read it and I can repeatedly read it again and again without boring.

In essence, I received much of happiness when I read the story. In this story, you will follow adventures of a little girl named Heidi. Her parents passed away when she was young; thus, she had to live with her grandfather who is an isolated old man and no one in his village can talk with him. However, a lovely and caring girl could live with him. In addition, I still remember one scene that shows his kindliness. A lovely girl came back his hut with a lot of questions
about environments that she found, and one of them was why bright and warm orange light shines after a beautiful mountain when sunset. The grandfather answered this question that this light occurs because sun want to warmly say goodbye to a mountain, and let a mountain know that the sun will come back to meet it again tomorrow.

There are only  happy examples that I received from reading this book. In this book, you will also be happy with a lovely and caring girl, beautiful natural scenes, and sincere friendships. Additionally, I promised myself that if I have a chance, I will share my good experience from this book and recommend it to people who I care.

Reviewed by Vyshnavi Vinod

Leave a Reply

